Up: Informational Files
Previous: handle choice
It is ICS policy not to allow handle changes unless your account is
new and you realize you chose a bad handle. If you want an exception
to this policy, you will have to give a VERY good reason. All handle
changes will be done by deleting most of your old account and creating a new
one, so your game history and ratings will be lost. Also, you will
normally be required to state your old handle in your notes.
Reasons for this policy:
- Handle changes tend to defeat the purpose
of players' censor lists, the abusers list, etc. They allow players
who have acquired a deservedly bad reputation to escape from it and
get away with doing the same things again.
- Handle changes confuse
the other players who have gotten to know you as a friend.
- Handle changes are a lot of extra work for the admins.
- There is no admin
command to change a player's handle without deleting his history. One
could be added, but we would rather spend the programming effort on
something with positive value.
See also: register
Klaus Knopper <email@example.com>